Today I feel like …

Today I feel like …

Today I feel like Alice, going down the rabbit hole, not knowing what to come, what to expect.

I feel like the hole is swallowing me up, like the hole is inside myself, that I’m under water, under earth; inescapable world. Fill the void or let me be empty.

I look in the mirror but I don’t want to look in the mirror. That isn’t who I am, this face staring back at me. But I let it be me because I have only myself.

Drowning in self-pity and self-inspection. What has become of me? Who is this person? It is me and yet, it is not. Where is the happy, little child I once was?

…But it’s no use going back to yesterday, because I was a different person then”, Alice said. Perhaps she’s right.

This wasn’t the day I was expecting. But then again, when is it ever?

Illustration by Lauren
Illustration by Ariel Davis
Leave a Reply

