i’m spitting out words

what will they make of me?

what shall they do?

they shimmer in the air

as untouchable as music

and yet in me

always there

always present

always matter

what we cannot see

hiding behind the tongue

like the devil himself

but oh, beauty and the devil and all the gods

are all hiding behind that tongue

words do sting, you know

like a sword i wield

this blade will seek to penetrate a lost soul

let yourself be my first kill

the ink staining my hands

drip down my arms

wipe it off my face and my conscience

blacken my heart

and rest my soul

the words seek me out, too, you know

the blade is double-edged

i stab myself because

i’ll never be free

i have only the words

Leave a Reply

